Posture of Prayer

“I lift my hands to you in prayer. I thirst for you as parched land thirsts for rain.” Psalm 143:6 (NLT)

Many of us approach prayer as if it is our time to convince God to agree with us in our requests. And yes, there are a few Biblical examples of when a person’s persistence in prayer alters the outcome. But more often than not, prayer is about getting me more in tune with God’s perspective and God’s will. Prayer is more about changing me. So an effective “posture” for entering time with God is a posture of openness and receptivity — ready to listen and hear, laying our hearts before God and even more eager to hear His heart.

So when I enter exercise, I try to enter it in a posture of prayer — ready to devote this time to Him … to listen, to hear and to surrender my will to His. It’s a time that I set aside to be with Him while I care for this body He gave me.  Where, when I hit physical struggles and limitations, I am reminded of my personal and spiritual struggles and limitations … and I receive encouragement or admonishment or insight that I need from the One who made me.

For me, it’s easiest to do this in the exercise space I’ve created in my basement, where I’ve hung posters and verses and can play my worship music. But even when I’m at the health club, I strive to maintain a posture of prayer. Open and ready to listen or respond to what He brings.

The body, mind and spirit are deeply intertwined. God made us that way. The exercise of one aspect of us is not and should not be isolated from the exercise of another.  Try entering your workouts in a posture of prayer. I think you will find that He exercises more than just your body!

Author: AHRoberts

My calling is to integrate the body back into how we worship and devote ourselves to God. God asks us to love Him with all that we are. And as integrated beings made in His likeness, that must include our bodies. Unfortunately, however, much of Christianity does not include the body in faith practices. I believe God cares about all of who we are, including how we care for and interact with these amazing bodies He gave us. A group-fitness instructor for over 27 years and a personal trainer, I also have a Masters from Trinity Evangelical Divinity school. My love for fitness and for Jesus have always been intertwined. My desire is to fuel a movement that brings the body back into loving God with ALL of who we are.

Leave a comment